top of page

ARCHIVES

Beginners Guide to Minimalism: 7 Delusions


In yesterdays post, we discussed the basics of minimalism. Now that we understand a little more about what minimalism is, let's look into what it is not. Therefore I give you *drumroll* the list of 7 common misconceptions!

1. To be minimalist you are required to get rid of everything that brings you comfort.

HUGE false! So many of my acquaintances think that I give up all my comfort, such as my comfy chairs and blankets (to which I gasp and reply "no way!"). It is in fact opposite of that, I get to keep what truly matters to me and get rid of the things that don't. They assume that I own nothing, which for some minimalist that is true, but that is all in personal preference.

2. To be minimalist you must be vegan or vegetarian.

Although that is an aspiring lifestyle to live, that is certainly not true for myself ( and I am pretty sure for others). This again is a person preference.

3. Minimalist are lazy.

I have not personally been bombarded with this statement, but Joshua Becker covers this in his article.

4. Minimalist are environmentalists.

They do sound similar, but this also is false for many people. However, any minimalist could be helping the environment by not knowing it I guess! I personally hope to have a positive impact.

5. Minimalist are stingy with money.

Well that is kind of true. We do spend money, but usually only on what really matters to us and on what we have planned or made a conscious decision on.

6. Anyone who cleans out their house is a minimalist.

If you have done so, congrats! That takes commitment and time, but a minimalist doesn't clean and then call it a day. Sure that is the start of a process, but it is more about your state of mind and the fact that you will continue to stay clutter free. (I will discuss this more in the next post)

7. Minimalist only use natural or homemade products.

Some do just this, but this also is one of those personal preference type of choice. Some have the ability to do so and others do not.

Now that we have that covered...

As you may have noticed, there is a pattern within all of these misconceptions. And that is the fact that it is all a personal preference. We are all different people in different circumstances. Therefore what might work for some minimalist might not work for others. I think this is what makes minimalism so fun because it is so free! Sure you could set rules on it, but that only makes it stressful. Allow yourself to change and adjust in this lifestyle as you grow in knowledge of what you can handle and what you desire to do! What makes you feel more creative? What makes it easier for you to relax? What helps you live more comfortably regarding your finances? Questions like these are great to ask yourself on a regular basis.

With that said.

Now on to our next post! I will be discussing the topic of decluttering, so be sure to come back!

Until next time friends :)


bottom of page