top of page

ARCHIVES

Beginners Guide to Minimalism: The Basics


When I first heard of the word "minimalist" I was not sure what that exactly meant.

In fact...

I have found that there really isn't a perfect definition. Minimalism has many forms and there are people of all walks of life that you can find on the internet that share what their own impression of the lifestyle is. But to make this a little more clear and manageable to think of, lets identify the basics of minimalism (that is, what is common amongst most minimalist).

1. Owning less

Wether that be downsizing your closet, or downsizing your whole house. The idea is to own only what you ACTUALLY use. (We all have those items that we forgot we even owned until we dug deep into the obis, you know what I'm talking about :P)

2. Controlling purchasing habits

This can mean many things such as making it a priority to eat before grocery shopping (best idea ever) to minimizing unnecessary expenses like cable TV (or maybe that is necessary, I don't judge). This definitely is a personal decision for each person.

3. Living a fuller life!

This is such a great benifit of the two above points! When you own less and spend wisely, as you can imagine, you have more oppertunities for life experiences. Also, for those who really own bare minimum (like Mat and Danielle), there is less things to move around which makes travel and moving less stressful!

Now these three "basics" are not what you are limited to! Like I said before, these are just what I have found is common amongst all of the minimalist I have met or read about.

But wait, there's more

So much more that I can't fit it all into just one post. Well I could, but I wanted to minimize (hehe see what I did there?) the amount of reading at one time. Soooo I have decided to make this a series (yay!) which means that you lovely readers out there need to stay tune! You can do this by either checking here each day, or you can follow me on twitter/instagram/pinterest (as I will update them as soon as the post goes live!).

Hope to see you then! :)


bottom of page